Self-Esteem

I Got It From my Mama

Genetically speaking I’m a bit of a mutt. Half of my family is straight of the boat from Italy and the other half came over on a much earlier boat in the 1600s. I love my heritage and I’ve gotten wonderful things from both sides of my family. That said, everyone always comments that I’m my mother just 30 years later, and in a lot of respects they’re right. We have many of the same personality traits, we love to eat, read and shop, and we give everything to those we love. I also got most of her looks and her beautiful skin. Being Mediterranean, she has a gorgeous olive complexion that looks tan all year round and feels like butter. On one hand, this is simply a lucky genetic roll of the dice. On the other, she eats lots of fruits and vegetables, drinks water and gets a good amount of sleep.

photo (7)

Over the years I’ve decided to supplement this 3-step plan with one of my own – a great skincare regimen. I have products that I love and use everyday, and those are the ones I’m going to share with you. I cleanse, tone and moisturize, besides using nighttime products to turn back aging and imperfections. Now I’m nowhere near perfect, so I obviously have those days where I’m too tired or hungover to take my makeup off, but I make that a goal every week – “ALWAYS TAKE YOUR MAKEUP OFF BEFORE YOU GO TO SLEEP, ALEXA”. Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t… But when it doesn’t there is another product I use to make my life that much easier. Check out my list of ride-or-die skincare products below and give some a try to make your skin feel like buttah:

1. Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Oil-Free Cleanser

Use to cleanse face with warm water. Rinse thoroughly with cool water.

2. Kiehl’s Rare Earth Pore Refining Tonic

After cleansing and drying face, apply toner to a facial cotton round. Swipe in circular motions onto clean skin.

3. Murad Skin Perfecting Facial Moisturizer

Moisturize face with a considerable amount of this lotion meant to perfect skin tone.

4. Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate

Before bed, apply a few drops to skin and rub in.

5. Bobbi Brown Hydrating Eye Cream

Smooth a small amount of cream onto the under-eye area of the face before bed.

6. Garnier The Refreshing Remover Cleansing Towelettes

Use to remove makeup before sleep or when you’re feeling too lazy for the entire regimen.

7. Fresh Umbrian Clay Treatment Bar

Dampen the clay bar and rub onto skin until covered. Wait 15 minutes, or until dry and remove with warm water. Pat face dry with a towe

This skincare regimen, great lighting and major cosmetics make-up that skin. Stay tuned for a beauty post soon!

IMG_0541

Leave a Reply

